A Little over 4 years ago D and I lost everything we had due to the fact we both lost our jobs just months from each other.  Our home, our cars, everything that we worked hard for was gone!

After that experience we felt it was smart to just save money and buy a car with cash.  8 months later I was a proud owner of a 1997 Dodge Caravan with 130K miles for $2,800 dollars.  It wasn’t nothing fancy but it has gotten us from point A to point B and that’s what the van was for.

Fast forward 3 years later and we knew this poor van is starting to have its day.  She almost has rolled over to 200k miles and we started to get a leak.  We found out our timing belt/water pump needed replaced.  We got the money together for the parts and a family member was to help fix it this weekend.

Sadly yesterday while D was driving home going 60 down the highway it just up and stopped working.  The dreaded timing belt broke 😦 this was horrible.  We are not sure yet of the damages and my brother is suppose to help us out this weekend and look at it.

This was most definatly one of those moments were you are like crap, really?  Right now?  Money is tighter than ever, this really was a bad time.  Not to mention it’s our ONLY vehicle.  Luckily we have a few friends who all pitched in here and there to do stuff…. One picked D up from the gas station, another used their triple A to get it towed home, and his other friend said he would stay with us this week so we can use his car!

I am blessed.  Sadly this effects gym time lol but hopefully this weekend we will find we still have a car.  The plan was next February we were to get a “new” vehicle.  And the fan was just to be for when I need to do small errans.  Please pray we still have a car! I have no clue what we will do longer term with out it.

I will say that I have come a long way because before I would be in complete freak out mode.  While I had a small moment yesterday it was by far not my norm.  I am proud of myself for that.  It’s taken me a lot to get here.  I am trying to stay positive even when the negative wants to creep in.  I mean we have been through a lot so this is just another bump right?  All in all I suppose we will figure it out like anything else.

I did weigh in on my challenge today and I maintained from last week.  I was actually happy it wasn’t a gain for my eating wasn’t the best AND I didn’t get to exercise this week.  I hope that I will get to do something this week even if I can’t make it to the gym (given we don’t have a car) so…. Tis life. Stuff happens just have to pick yourself up, dust yourself off and move on. 🙂

